What are the annual recertification requirements for FHA-approved Government Mortgagees?

To retain its FHA approval, a Mortgagee must complete FHA’s recertification process on an annual basis within 90 Days after their fiscal year end. 

Government Mortgagees must submit the online certification to recertify their FHA approval, but are not required to pay a recertification fee or submit financial information. 

The Mortgagee, through a Corporate Officer, must complete a series of annual certification statements that address the Mortgagee’s compliance with FHA requirements over the Certification Period. The Certification Period is the one-year period beginning on the first day of the Mortgagee’s prior fiscal year and ending on the last calendar day thereof.  The certification must be completed through the Lender Electronic Assessment Portal (LEAP) by a Corporate Officer of the Mortgagee who has been granted the Certifying Official authorization in FHA Connection (FHAC). 

A Corporate Officer is a natural person who serves as one of the following positions for a Government Mortgagee:
• President;
• Vice President in charge of managing or overseeing any aspect of the Mortgagee’s FHA business;
• Chief Operating Officer (COO);
• Chief Financial Officer (CFO);
• Director;
• Corporate Secretary;
• Chief Executive Officer (CEO);
• General Counsel;
• Chairman of the Board;
• General Partner; or
• specifically designated staff member(s) of a Government Mortgagee. 

For LEAP Information, including the LEAP User Manual, please visit the FHA Lenders page, Approvals and Renewal section, at http://www.hud.gov/lenders  

Handbook 4000.1 Section I.A.3.c.iv.(B)(1)(a) is available at https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/administration/hudclips/handbooks/hsgh

All policy information contained in this knowledge base article is based upon the referenced HUD policy document. Any lending or insuring decisions should adhere to the specific information contained in that underlying policy document.

Topic Number: KA-05086